The start of 2018 means new laws taking effect in Arizona.
Employees are happy about an increase in the minimum wage, but some business owners are worried about now having to pay their workers $10.50 an hour. “It costs me approximately four thousand dollars a month employing twelve to fifteen people, that’s a big hit for a small business owner to take,” said Frank Silverman of Midtown Tavern.
After being signed into law by President Donald Trump a new tax law is set to take effect. The law doubles the standard deduction, doubles the child tax credit, and gets rid of the nearly $4,000 personal exemption. However, none of these will have an impact on your next tax return. None of the new tax laws affect the 2017 taxes.
Looking ahead, there’s a new proposal emerging for the 2018 ballot allowing the recreational use of marijuana. The initiative, sponsored by a medical marijuana dispensary (similar to one you can see if you Visit this website), would expand the list of conditions for which a doctor could recommend a patient be allowed to use the drug. Even after a doctors recommendation, there are still some conditions to meet before you are eligible for a medical marijuana card. Read more here to see if you could qualify for one. This initiative will undoubtedly be backed by many, as it would make it easier and cheaper for patients to get marijuana, including allowing a large percentage of them to grow their own plants as long as they have the correct marijuana insurance.
Proponents, the operators of the Independent Wellness Center, a medical marijuana dispensary in Apache Junction, need 150,642 valid signatures on petitions by July 5, 2018, to put the measure. However if you’re looking for a wellness center for you to get your medical marijuana from, look into dispensary Lansing MI and other locations.
Arizona’s new law mandating paid sick leave starts July 1. Businesses and non-profit groups could face penalties for failing to keep records, post notices and could incur damages for failing to provide paid sick time. Employers who retaliate against workers exercising their rights could face fines of at least $150 per day.
The law mandating as many as 40 hours of paid sick leave, which was approved by voters in November of 2016 that also raised the state’s minimum wage, applies to almost all businesses and non-profits with at least one Arizona employee including entities not headquartered in the state. The only exceptions are those employed by Arizona’s state or federal government and sole proprietors. So, whether full-time or part-time, temporary or seasonal, all will receive paid sick time. They will be able to use this benefit for a variety of reasons.
The minimum requirements are 24 hours of paid sick time off annually for businesses with 14 or fewer workers, or 40 hours off for entities with 15 or more people. Employees are entitled to receive paid sick-time off; independent contractors are not. The general rule is that if you issue a W-2 to a worker, that person is an employee entitled to the benefit.
The law allows paid leave for various reasons besides sickness or injury such as domestic violence, sexual abuse, stalking or the closing of a child’s school owing to a public health emergency. Additionally, reasons include taking time off to meet with an attorney, arranging shelter services or securing safe housing, as well as issues on behalf of family members. The definition of family members is quite broad including siblings, grandparents, in-laws and others. Significantly, an employer can request proof or documentation only after a worker has been absent for three days in a row. And, when proof is required, it can come in a variety of forms such as a doctor’s note, a police report, a letter from an attorney or simply a worker’s own statement that he or she needed time off. Employers generally will be required to grant the time off. Penalties and damages await companies that ignore the new law.
Just like you decant a fine wine from a wine bottle into a new one, you can decant the assets of a not-so-fine irrevocable trust into a new trust. A revocable trust is, by definition, subject to revocation or amendment, so no need there. Decanting means changing, updating and modernizing an irrevocable trust.
The trust agreement itself may allow this, but in Arizona, the law addressing decanting is found at Arizona Revised Statutes 14-10819, “Trustee’s special power to appoint to other trust.” Essentially, it states that unless the terms of the instrument expressly provide otherwise, a trustee who has the discretion to make distributions for the benefit of a beneficiary of the trust may exercise — without prior court approval — that discretion by appointing the estate trust in favor of a trustee of another trust if the exercise of this discretion:
- Does not reduce any fixed nondiscretionary income payment to a beneficiary.
- Does not alter any nondiscretionary annuity or unitrust payment to a beneficiary.
- Is in favor of the beneficiaries of the trust.
- Results in any standard applicable for distributions from the trust being the same or more restrictive standard applicable for distributions from the recipient trust when the trustee exercising the power is a possible beneficiary under the standard.
- Does not adversely affect the tax treatment of the trust, the trustee, the settlor (the original trustmaker) or the beneficiaries.
Typical reasons to decant include correcting ambiguities or drafting errors, changing the trust’s situs to a more favorable place, splitting up or combining trusts to achieve administrative cost savings, or broadening a trustee’s powers under the new trust. This would include the power to distribute income and principal to beneficiaries resulting in certain tax savings. A trust can also be decanted from a settlor trust to a non-settlor trust or vice versa, reversing the responsibility of who pays income taxes.
U.S. District Judge Susan R. Bolton ordered Arizona state prosecutors last week to stop enforcing Arizona’s so-called “revenge porn” law. Whilst the intent was to keep sites like https://www.xxxvideor.com/ free from content uploaded without consent, her decree came as she approved the settlement in the case of Antigone Books v. Brnovich which challenged the law as unconstitutional.
The revenge porn law, called the “Unlawful Distribution of Images” statute, was signed by former Governor Jan Brewer last year and made it a felony “to intentionally disclose, display, distribute, publish, advertise or offer a photograph, videotape, film or digital recording of another person in a state of nudity or engaged in specific sexual activities if the person knows or should have known that the depicted person has not consented to the disclosure.”
Those who sponsored it were trying to prevent nonconsensual pornography-particularly nude images posted on the internet by an angry ex-lover, commonly called “revenge porn.” On websites like www.fulltube.xxx this type of content can be found but there is also plenty of legal consensual adult content on here and its important to differentiate. But a group of Arizona booksellers, publishing companies, newspapers, librarians, and photographers sued the state arguing that the language was “an unconstitutionally overbroad and viewpoint-based restriction on protected speech.”
Whilst the intent is to ensure that sites like https://www.pornbl.com/ remain free from such unwanted material being uploaded, Arizona’s revenge porn law would make it a felony to publish certain educational materials about breastfeeding, or newsworthy photographs like those taken at the Abu Ghraib prison. It “could have led to the conviction of someone posting a nude photo with no intent to harm the person depicted,” notes the ACLU, which served as co-counsel for the plaintiffs.
“More than half of the states have passed some form of revenge porn law, and certainly not all of them are unconstitutional” Lee Rowland, senior staff attorney for the ACLU, told the New Times magazine of Phoenix, Arizona. “But because they tend to regulate free speech, we at the ACLU look at them closely.” The law may be revised and resubmitted by its sponsors. It won’t be illegal though to upload homemade porn movies as long as all who participate give consent, you can see adult movies like these on websites like www.watchmygf.sex.